Motorcycle Law 101: What You Should Know Before You Ride In Oregon
Riding a motorcycle in Oregon comes with its fair share of safety rules and regulations. After all, a motorcycle accident is often more serious than a bicycle accident. Not only is this meant to keep you safe on the road, but it also ensures the wellbeing of other drivers. Before you get on your hog and ride, be sure to know these motorcycle basics mandatory in the state of Oregon.
Education 101: What you need to ride
Even if you’ve been riding motorcycles for years, you won’t be able to legally take yours on the road unless you receive mandatory rider education. This includes Basic Rider Training (BRT) and Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) for those over 21. Taking a motorcycle rider education course can even lower insurance premiums depending on the insurance agency.
In order to receive a motorcycle Instruction Permit, you have to be at least 16 years of age, have a valid driver license issued in the state, and pass the test. You must be given this permit and pass a motorcycle education course in order to receive a motorcycle endorsement.
This is especially important for new folks who move to Oregon. Unlike other states, Oregon issues DUII laws and fines, not DUI convictions. A DUII means that you’re ‘driving under the influence of intoxicants’ which prohibits any driving or riding with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more, or riding with any cannabis, inhalants, or other controlled substances in your system.
Unlike DUI laws, the DUII convictions in Oregon harbor strict minimum sentences for first-time offenders. Following your first offense, it’s mandatory that you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a minimum of one year, serve jail time from 48 hours up to a year (or serve 80 hours of community service), pay a fine, or even receive a license suspension.
There is no plea bargaining should you be arrested for a DUII in the state of Oregon.
What to wear when you ride
Riding a motorcycle means that you’re subject to environmental factors and significant damage should you be in an accident. As such, it’s necessary you wear the proper protective gear when you get on the road, including the following:
- A properly fitted helmet
- A durable jacket
- Sturdy pants that cover the entirety of your legs (jeans are inadequate)
- Protective footwear
- Gloves with grip
Operating a motorcycle in the state of Oregon comes with a few nuances that anyone needs to learn should you want to ride. It’s estimated that 14% of the traffic fatalities in Oregon were related to motorcyclists in 2013.
Whether you suffer from a motorcycle accident, a bicycle accident, or simply need to talk to a personal injury attorney, don’t hesitate to contact the professionals of Mayor Law. Our personal injury attorneys have the experience necessary in order to help you handle a variety of drunk driving claims, construction accidents, and more. If you’ve been in a motorcycle or bicycle accident, contact us today.