What is my personal injury case worth?

Posted in Insurance Companies,Motor Vehicle Accidents,Oregon Personal Injury Accidents,Small Value/ Cases Under $10,000,Wrongful Death on March 16, 2015

When I meet with a client for the first time to review details of their personal injury case, I am inevitably asked, “What is my personal injury case worth?” This is a complex question that is not easily answered. Determining the potential value of a personal injury case requires thoughtful evaluation and gathering of facts … Continued

Oregon Permissive Driver Case – Ruling Reversed & Legal Fees Awarded

Posted in Insurance Companies,ML In The News,Motor Vehicle Accidents,Small Value/ Cases Under $10,000 on September 18, 2012

As a follow up to our recent victory against GEICO Insurance in the disputed Oregon permissive driver case, Robert Ma v. GEICO Casualty Company, the Oregon Court of Appeals awarded our client his attorney fees in the amount of $50,000. GEICO’s decision to save a few dollars by wrongfully denying our client his collision related … Continued

ORS 20.080 Limits Increase for Oregon Small Injury Claims

Posted in Bicycle Accidents,Motor Vehicle Accidents,Oregon Personal Injury Accidents,Pedestrian Accidents,Small Value/ Cases Under $10,000 on November 18, 2011

Effective January 1, 2012, Oregon Revised Statute ORS 20.080 increases the applicable limits for Oregon small injury claims to $10,000.  This means personal injury victims and claimants in the Portland area and throughout Oregon can seek up to $10,000 in damages, which can include medical expenses, lost wages and/or non-economic damages for pain and suffering … Continued

The Power of ORS 20.080 in Smaller Personal Injury Cases

Posted in Bicycle Accidents,Motor Vehicle Accidents,Oregon Personal Injury Accidents,Small Value/ Cases Under $10,000 on February 10, 2010

ORS 20.080 has always assisted injury victims in recovering from the at-fault party in smaller Oregon personal injury cases. Finally, after many years, the Oregon Legislature has increased the amount injured persons can claim under the statute from $5,500 to $7,500, effective January 1, 2010. That amount jumps up to $10,000 in 2012. Under the … Continued